Spain Dominates Lithuania and Wins Eurobasket Championship 80-63


Lithuania was no match for Spain in a final very lopsided in Spains favor. Lithuania started the game sloppy and with bad defense while Spain played practically perfect. Gasol scored 14 points in the first quarter for Spain and finished with 25 points and 14 rebounds. Tonights final marked another record crowd of 27,372 basketball fans.



Pau Gasol was the awarded the MVP and headed the Eurobasket All-Start Five: Sergio Rodriguez, Jonas Maciulis, Jonas Valanciunas and Nando De Colo.

View the full box score and story

EuroBasket 2015 final standings are as follows:
1. Spain*
2. Lithuania*
3. France**
4. Serbia**
5. Greece**
6. Italy**
7. Czech Republic**
8. Latvia
9. Croatia
10. Israel
11. Poland
12. Slovenia
13. Belgium
14. Turkey
15. Georgia
16. Finland
17. Russia
18. Germany
19. The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
20. Estonia
21. Netherlands
22. Ukraine
23. Bosnia and Herzegovina
24. Iceland

*The top-two teams earned direct qualification to the 2016 Rio Games
**Teams that came in third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh all booked places in the 2016 FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments (OQTs).

Eurobasket Finals Set – Spain to Face Lithuania, While France Square Off With Serbia for the Bronze


Last night, Lithuania won an epic game against Serbia who were favorites going in the game by 3 points and will receive a ticket to Rio. Lithuania will now face Spain in the finals on Sunday September 20th at 7:00pm (local time) in what will be a great game of two teams who took the hard road to get to the finals. Both Spain and Lithuania aren’t new to the finals and matching up but this time both teams had a difficult road to get there. Spain will be led by Pau Gasol who is the leading scorer of the Eurobasket Championship with 25.6 points and 4th in rebounds with 8.4 per game. Lithuania point guard Mantas Kalnietis leads the championship with 8 assists per game and big man Jonas Valanciunas is 5th in scoring with 16.9 per game. The match up with both big men will be interesting, however as of yet no one has found an answer of how to stop big man Pau Gasol.

Read the full preview at Eurobasket

Meanwhile, France will face Serbia for the third place bronze medal at 2:00pm (local time). France will definitely try to win in front of their home crowd.

Eurobasket 2015 Sweet 16 Is Set


With a lot of drama in stake during the first rounds, the last 16 teams have been set. Some new teams will be playing in the Eurobasket knock out stages. Russia was a bit disappointment while new and upcoming teams such as Belgium and Finland have surprised most in their respective groups. The schedule for the knockout stages is below:

Saturday 12 September

  • 12:00 Latvia vs Slovenia
  • 14:30 Greece vs Belgium
  • 18:30 Spain vs Poland
  • 21:00 France vs Turkey

Sunday 13 September

  • 12:00 Croatia v Czech Republic
  • 14:30 Serbia v Finland
  • 18:30 Israel v Italy
  • 21:00 Lithuania v Georgia

All Final Phase games can be watched live online and highlights will be available on

View more news:

Serbia Wins First Ever Eurobasket For Direct Entry to 2016 Rio Games

Serbia had never before been on the podium at the Eurobasket Championships and now they are champions with a big win over last year’s winner France 76-68. The game was close throughout but defensively Serbia was better while shooting well.



EuroBasket 2015 Qualifiers Groups


The 26 teams were drawn into seven round-robin groups – five (5) groups of four (4) teams and two (2) groups of three (3) teams.

The seven group winners, plus the six best second-placed teams, a total of 13 teams, will qualify to the Final Round in Ukraine.

The EuroBasket 2015 2nd Qualification Round groups (in order that teams were drawn):

Bosnia and Herzegovina Montenegro Germany Belgium Czech R. Latvia Italy
Great Britain Israel Poland FYR of Macedonia Georgia Sweden Russia
Iceland Bulgaria Austria Belarus Portugal Slovakia Switzerland
Netherlands Luxembourg Denmark Hungary Romania

The game days for the 2nd Qualification Round are set for 10, 13, 17, 20, 24 and 27 August 2014.

11 teams have already punched their ticket to EuroBasket 2015.

France, Lithuania, Spain, Croatia, Slovenia, Ukraine, Serbia, Finland, Greece and Turkey courtesy of their participation in the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup.